SSM

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

3 posters

Richard the 1st

Richard the 1st Empty Richard the 1st

Post  Guest Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:57 pm

Hi Guys

Specially Ivan, I have just had a brilliant day at work and the juices have started to flow. Having bought the SK miniatures figure of Richard the First I am now looking at getting some info for it, you know the standard stuff as I have never tried to portray this Royal before, so here is the questions......?

Two lions or three, shield and surcoat or just shield, base colour of surcoat and shield, Red or White......

I know they are simple questions, I just don’t know the answers

Thanks

Dave
    skyhigh
    skyhigh
    Best in Show
    Best in Show

Richard the 1st Empty Re: Richard the 1st

Post  skyhigh Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:21 am

DaveM wrote:Hi Guys

Specially Ivan, I have just had a brilliant day at work and the juices have started to flow. Having bought the SK miniatures figure of Richard the First I am now looking at getting some info for it, you know the standard stuff as I have never tried to portray this Royal before, so here is the questions......?

Two lions or three, shield and surcoat or just shield, base colour of surcoat and shield, Red or White......

I know they are simple questions, I just don’t know the answers

Thanks

Dave

was on the net , and found these may be they are helpful...

Richard the 1st King_r10

Richard the 1st Knight10

Richard the 1st Lionhe10

[

Richard the 1st King-r10
    iCocker
    iCocker
    Best in Show
    Best in Show

Post  iCocker Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:41 pm

Dave

Glad you got your flair back ...

During the crusades Richard had stylised 2 leopards facing each other on a red field. The idea of three for the British Royalty came after his reign. Also for the crusades he used a white small cross for his army, the red cross was used by his brother in arms [some say his partner] the French King Philip.