My first model

Maxi_Model
    Highly Commended
    Highly Commended

My first model

Post  Maxi_Model on Sun Aug 12, 2012 7:45 pm

Hi there gents, lately I did not post much of my work since I was only doing this model that I will be posting in this thread, apart from the rusting and paint chipping trial I posted.

So since this is my first build, I decided to go for a cheap model and see how it goes. I purchased an Academy Humvee 1/35

So here's the first cutting and gluing of this model

Though I was wondering if I should start painting some parts from right now since maybe later on they would not be reachable with the brush.

here it is starting to come together

the parts are overlaying each other so in some places it would be hard to paint. Now I assembled them anyway but will try to paint them later on.

Here I started painting some of the parts in case I would not be able to reach them later on

Here I'm cuttign parts to see how they fit together

I started painting the interior, even though it won't be seen much when finished but wanted to have a little detail

Here I applied some paint chipping on the rear, where normally heavy boxes of fuel cans are loaded

Here I masked and sprayed on the primer

while masking teh model, I accidentally hit the handle of the back door and lost it, so I decided to try and make one from copper wire, it looks crude, but its my first attempt in making parts

Then I came to the turret, and since I'm doing an open turret, I had to cut the lid in half to fold it, so while at it, I decided to try and add a couple of small details to it, just for fun and to try.

Now came the paint job, this was my first time using acrylics as I went for 'Life Color' paints, it was an excruciating job since I had a white primer and the paint was very light too, so I couldn't see where the paint was hitting or not. Luckily it did not go that bad.