SSM

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

+2
skyhigh
Haratio Fales
6 posters

1/72 scale German light cruiser Munich

Haratio Fales
    Haratio Fales
    Bronze
    Bronze

1/72 scale German light cruiser Munich Empty 1/72 scale German light cruiser Munich

Post  Haratio Fales Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:17 pm

I am a veteran of the U.S. millitary both Navy and Army. I have studied war history and built millitary models since the age of 5. I was stationed aboard 3 aircract carriers as a aircraft mechanic, and was a Tank/Feild artillery mechanic in the Army and served 7 months in Saudi Arabia and Kuwait in Desert Sheild, and Desert Storm.

I am starting this Post to show the Construction of a scratch built Z plan cruiser design that The Germans were planing on building but never got to the point of doing. They did laydown a few keels of quite a few ships and start construction on some but latter when the war started recycled those materials into building tanks and field guns that were needed in other theaters of the war.

There are other forums and wikis that talk about the war history and conjecture what might and could have been if things would have been done different, so I dont want to wear your ears out here with that. I just wish to describe that the model in this post is from a design that the Germans wanted to build 4 to 6 of as part of the Z plan, and basically had 3 variations in design stages with 2 designs for a possible 2 improved ships in the same class and possibly a second class.